After my collegiate years at Emory University, I aim to go into the finance world. I want to work with international markets and the trading that goes with it. In the summer of 2011, I interned at Raymond James & Associates in London, England. I learned the inner workings of the stocks, bonds, and currency along side traders, brokers, and analysts. I gained experience in stock researching, IPO's, brokering sales, and analysts presentations. My assignment was to write daily market comments before the opening and after the closing bells. These reports were sent to clients about the upcoming stock offerings and variables that affect stock performance. It was during my internship that I decided finance was where I wanted my future to be. I would be speaking with large banks, other firms, and publicly traded companies on a daily basis to predict market changes, and stay updated on important information. My job would require me to solve business related problems through analysis of the foreign exchange markets and financial and non-financial institutions. The community of my profession would be other financiers, clients around the world that give me business or information that can affect the entire market and everyone who has money tied up in it. One decision or idea can change the actions of other traders, analysts, brokers and bankers and can send the market skyrocketing or plummeting. Like the current recession, the decisions of the people in the market, changed the economy for the entire country.

In this profession there are a lot of jobs for people with disabilities, but just because one has a disability, doesn’t make he/she disabled. Those with autism or Asperger’s syndrome can make quick rational decisions and can see data differently than those without the disability, and possibly predict the market changes better. For those that are blind, most of the work in finance can be done over the phone or with voice features on the computers, but not being able to see graphs and charts may prove to be detrimental when making buy/sell decisions. The biggest handicap, lack of execution, can come to anyone though. Hesitation causes a lot of missed opportunities and lost money in the stock, bond and currency market, proving that handicaps are in everyone in the finance industry. Disabilities are seen in all professions, but finance is one where they are more accepted and turned into strengths. Everyone has his/her own challenges, but working hard to overcome them is a standard in international finance.



Leave a Reply.