In my last post, I discussed how I want to go into finance after I graduate from college. In my research of how disability correlates with finance, I want to explore how the funds put into Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security programs affect the economy and if we are maximizing our potential as an economy and country. There are different disability regulations that must be met to receive benefits and if regulations were stricter, it’s likely that less people would receive benefits; therefore, leaving more money left to be spent by the government. With this extra money, we may be able to pay off our debt or fund other productive programs that can benefit a larger mass of people. I’m am interested in this because last year, Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security accounted for nearly 43% of budgeted spending in the United States. This is an outrageous amount of money to be spent in such a specific area, and there may be more beneficial places for this money. Since Obama-care has recently passed and changes currently being made to the health care and benefit systems, it will be interesting to see how the budget changes, and program changes affect the economy in the future. With my research, I hope to find patterns and economists testimonials & models that prove a correlation between disability funding, and economic status. This is an important, and sensitive topic that can hopefully shed light on better ways to improve the economy and have great health care benefit programs.



Leave a Reply.